Voters go to the polls in Greater Manchester Mayor election
Thursday 4th May 2017 @ 09:25 by Adam Higgins
Greater Manchester News

Thousands of people across Tameside are expected to turn out at polling stations throughout the borough today (Thursday) to choose Greater Manchester’s first metro mayor.

Voters will be able to choose from eight candidates at the polls in the historic election, which is part of a devolution deal to transform some powers from central government to the local area.

Sean Anstee for the Conservatives, the English Democrats’ Stephen Morris, Jane Brophy of the Liberal Democrats, UKIP’s Shneur Odze, Will Patterson for the Green Party, Labour’s Andy Burnham and independent candidates Marcus Farmer and Mohammad Aslam are all vying for the role

The directly-elected mayor, who will receive a six-figure salary, will be in charge of Greater Manchester Police and the Fire Service and represent the region’s 10 district councils on the national and international stage.

They also have responsibility for housing, planning and public transport.

Elsewhere, in Derbyshire, it’s polling day in the Derbyshire County Council elections.

For the first time since 2013, all 64 seats are being contested as people get the chance to vote in a full council for the next four years.

READ MORE: Voters go to the polls in DCC elections

Polling stations will be open for you to cast your vote until 10pm this evening and the results will be announced tomorrow (Friday) for both elections.

The outcome of the mayoral election will be revealed at the Manchester Central Convention Complex at a time to be confirmed.