Weather Icon 8.4°C Rain
Ashton Sixth Form higher education students celebrate success
Monday 27th June 2016 @ 13:28 by Adam Higgins
Ashton News

Higher and Adult Education students from Ashton Sixth Form have had their hard work recognised at the college’s Annual Evening of Celebration.

The success and achievements of more than 400 students was celebrated.

Some of them are graduating with Foundation degrees, BA (Hons) and PGCEs in a variety of subjects this summer, while numerous other students won subject prizes.

The awards were presented at a glamorous ceremony at Dukinfield Town Hall by College Principal Anton McGrath and the Civic Mayor of Tameside, Cllr Philip Fitzpatrick.

Also in attendance was the Deputy Vice Chancellor of Staffordshire University who gave a speech, congratulating students on their success and thanking families for their support.

The evening was attended by more than 200 students, along with their friends and families.

Assistant Principal of Higher Education, Skills and International, Jo Fletcher-Saxon, said: “It is always an amazing evening in which we get to celebrate the progress and achievements of our adult and higher education learners.

“We heard stories about people’s lives completely transforming through studying maths and English, people gaining employment, people moving up in their careers, our trainee teachers securing their first teaching posts, and amazing university offers for those who have completed foundation years.

“It’s what we are here for and we are really proud of the college’s work with post 18 students.”

Winners on the night were:

Principal’s Special Award (Adult Skills) – Lisa Hodkinson.

Principal’s Special Award (Higher Education) – Emily Curran.

Mentor of the Year – Sharon Maginn – The Heys Primary School.

GCSE Maths Learners’ of the Year – Tracy Knight, Hannah Szoltysek and Pariece Wilding.

Functional Maths Learners’ of the Year – Emma Newton and Izabela Belcik.

GCSE English Learners’ of the Year – Carrianne Stringer and Debra Teece.

Functional English Learners’ of the Year – Allan Ridding and Emma Bashir.

GCSE Science Learners’ of the Year – Emily Clewlow, Amanda Read and Julie Hinds.

Teaching Assistant Learners’ of the Year – Paige McParland, Nadia Godding and Kathryn Swindells.

Early Years Education Learners’ of the Year – Bethany Mackin and Rachel Latham.

Foundation Degree in Education Learner of the Year – Natalie Pollard.

BA (Hons) Education Learner of the Year – Samantha Broadhurst.

Foundation Degree in Early Childhood Studies – Paula Nield and Emma Costello.

BA (Hons) in Early Childhood Studies – Samantha Hibbert.

Health Learner of the Year – Helen Williams.

Teacher Training Learners’ of the Year – Rachel Bunting and Adam Ridings.

Art and Design Learner of the Year – Joe Casey.

Media Production Learners of the Year – Dean Ray and Rachel Spokes.

Ambassador of the Year Winners – Matthew Johnson and Jennifer Airey.