Winners named in local NHS Trust Everyone Matters Awards 2018
Sunday 8th July 2018 @ 11:38 by Nigel Skinner
Ashton Dukinfield Glossop Health News Tameside

Special thanks were paid to the Oldham and Glossop Mountain Rescue teams at this year’s Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Trust awards.

A glittering ceremony was held at Dukinfield Town Hall on Friday night to recognise the achievement of health staff and teams.

But before the announcement of this year’s Volunteer of the Year Award, the judges gave special mention to the mountain rescue teams in recognition of the help they had given the NHS during the bad winter – which had included helping health staff get to work in the heavy snows.

Host Andy Crane made the announcement before the awards officially began.

PROUD: Tameside Hospital Chief Executive Karen James.

Tameside Hospital Chief Executive Karen James said the awards were a culmination of a week of celebrations marking the 70th anniversary of the NHS.

“The Everyone Matters Awards honour colleagues and friends from across our health and social care system for their outstanding contributions over the last 12 months,” she told a packed Dukinfield Town Hall.

“This year we have had over 300 award nominations and it’s not been easy for the judges to select the winners and in reality every individual and team nominated deserves recognition.”

She finished by telling the several hundred attendees that she felt immensely proud and privileged to be the chief executive of the Trust.

“I have had the honour of leading this organisation for the last five years and I believe that we are going from strength to strength,” she said.

“Who would have thought four years ago we would be regarded as a trailblazer in delivering integrated services for our local population.

“Other NHS organisations and local authorities now learn from us and the experiences we have gained in establishing an integrated health and social care system.

“We are the envy of many and therefore I’m so proud of what we have achieved together and excited about the future.”

GRATITUDE: Trust chair Jane McCall.

Trust chair Jan McCall started in the new role in January and said she had had the pleasure of meeting with many health staff, teams and patients throughout the whole organisation over the last few months.

She said how impressed she was by how completely dedicated staff were to making the patient and carer experience the best and safest it can be.

She also thanked everyone on behalf of the board, stating those levels of dedication are ‘truly appreciated’.

“We know it’s not always easy, the winter pressures at the end of 2017 and beginning of 2018 have been equally if not more challenging than in previous years.

“We were not unique in that regard with services across Greater Manchester and beyond really struggling and actually we performed really well, partly because of the commitment of all the staff, who despite the hardships of the weather – both cold and now hot – continually put in the extra effort to make sure the Trust ran efficiently.

“We deeply appreciate the extra hours of work that were put in during those very busy periods in the winter and continue to be put in now,” she added.

“Through those difficult times I want to thank everyone for going above and beyond to ensure that above all else, patient safety and experiences are a priority.

“There’s a lot in the press about the NHS in crisis, but I think those difficult times show the NHS – and all of you here – at your best.

“When you had to work in the snow you carried on – the Trust really is a place where ‘Everyone Matters’.”

Award winners…

Volunteer of the Year: Arthur Egan.

Special thanks to Oldham and Glossop Mountain Rescue Teams.

Service Improvement Award: Rugare Mesekiwa, Mark Gerrard and Jo Booth.

Highly commended – Urology Specialist Nurses.

Leading and Inspiring Others Award: Two winners were Hannah Gallagher and Sarah Irvine. Highly commended Lindsay Roodurmun

Care Together Award: Digital Health and Community Response Service. Highly Commended were The Neighbourhood Management Team.

Everyone Matters Award: The standard of excellence displayed by all four shortlisted meant all four were named as winners. They were: Imran Yaqub, Janet Shorrock, the Learning Disabilities Team and Lucy Simm.

Rising Stars: The Trust awarded all ten nominees the award – they were Alison Greensmith, Carol Adam, Cathryn Winchcombe, Jessica Oakes, Matthew Clark, Phil Lane, Sadjo Djalo, Sam McGovern, Sheriece Johnson and Simon Smith.

Education and Learning: Radiology Training Programme

Support Team of the Year: Winners were named as the Central Booking Office and the Booking and Scheduling Team.

Clinical Team of the Year: Emergency Department Team. Highly Commended were the Emergency Orthopaedic Team.

Patient’s Choice: The integrated care displayed by all four teams meant they were all named as winners. They were the Ashton District Nurses, Integrated Urgent Care Team, Macmillan & Respite Team and Out of Hours Hospital Service.

Kate Granger Award: Winners John and Jenny Roberts. Highly commended Nicola Hopkins.

Lifetime Achievement Awards: A series of Lifetime Achievement awards were presented marking long, professional and dedicated service in the 70th anniversary year of the NHS.

They were Jane Slater, Carol Owen, Alison Worthington, Dave Gill, and Gillian Shaw.

• Picture special in this Thursday’s Tameside Reporter and Glossop Chronicle (July 12 edition).