Weather Icon 8.4°C Rain
Nominations are now open for this year’s Pride of Tameside Sports Awards
Tuesday 26th June 2018 @ 10:33 by Mark Phillip

Nominations are now open for this year’s Pride of Tameside Sports Awards.

The annual event, which will once again take place at Dukinfield Town Hall in September, is held to celebrate sporting achievement within the borough on a personal and club level.

Although the awards night is three months away, the search has started to find Tameside’s top sports performers, teams, groups and individuals before nominations close on Sunday 5th August.

Looking ahead to the event, Andy Dwyer, who is tasked with organising the evening, said: “The Pride of Tameside Sports Awards has been going for about 15 years.

“We started out in Stalybridge Civic Hall, which was a very small and informal event that attracted about 20 people, but it’s grown and grown to the stage we’re currently at now.

“Last year’s event was fantastic; we’re confident of making it event better in September”.

There will be eight awards up for grabs at this year’s event:

  • Coach of the Year
  • Sports Achiever of the Year
  • Disabled Sports Achiever of the Year
  • Alex Williams Volunteer of the Year
  • Unsung Hero of the Year
  • Club of the Year
  • Changing Lifestyle Special Recognition Award
  • The School Commitment to PE and Sport Award

The latter, which was introduced at last year’s event, was won by St John Fisher RC Primary School for their dedication to enhancing pupils’ lives through sport and physical well-being.

The award is set to be highly contested once again, as numerous schools have regularly competed in the events coordinated by Tameside Schools Sports Partnership.

As seen in the video below, Russell Scott have excelled when it comes to Indoor Athletics and they retained their crown for a third successive year in January.

Having spent countless hours of his time training the future stars at Droylsden Amateur Boxing Club, Ian Harrison claimed the Coach of the Year Award in September, while Curzon Ashton chairman Harry Twamley scooped the Unsung Hero of the Year Award for his devotion to the club that he helped found 63 years ago.

Running sensation Angela Oldham picked up the Sports Achiever of the year Award – and it came as no surprise given she successfully completed 10 marathons in 10 days to raise funds for the Brathay Trust.

Following its inception in 2015, Mossley AFC Running Club has grown from strength to strength and now boasts over 180 members.

Secretary Nicola Steen found her efforts rewarded with the Alex Williams Volunteer of the Year Award – created in honour of Alex, who tragically passed away from meningitis in 2012 – while the club itself won the Club of the Year Award.

Other winners at last year’s event included Shannon Dover, who picked up the Disabled Sports Achiever of the Year Award, while Jonathan Clutterbuck took home the Changing Lifestyle Special Recognition Award.

A special award was also presented by the Believe and Achieve Trust, which went to Jake Smith.

In six months time, Dukinfield Town Hall will once again play host to another night of sporting recognition.

However, the evening’s success depends on you!

Do you know a person or group worthy of praise? If so, you can help get them the recognition they deserve by filling out the following forms:

The Tameside Reporter has been into the heart of the community to find out which sports clubs, groups and individuals deserve nominating for this year’s awards.

Below are just a few examples of the extraordinary dedication and work we see on a daily basis: