Golfers celebrate year to remember
Tuesday 7th November 2017 @ 11:05 by Mark Phillip

Glossop Golf Club’s annual presentation evening took place at the club last Friday evening, hosted by the club’s captain, Nick Minns.

The season’s remaining trophies and titles were awarded to a variety of golfers, reflecting the keen competition that takes place each week at the club.

Adam Longson took the Malcolm Siddall Memorial Salver and was keen to highlight in his acceptance speech the welcome he has received this year as a new member of the club, a message that was echoed by several new members throughout the evening.

The Abraham Cup was awarded to Jon Wray and the Beever Trophy was won by Ricky Wood who turned in the best six net sores throughout the year, finishing on a total of 408.

Dave Wyatt was this year’s Net Eclectic winner, finishing with an overall score of 48, whilst the winner of the Eclectic Gross went to Luke Siddall.

Eddie Frost, last year’s club champion, continued to display his prowess at the sport by winning the club’s Scratch Knockout trophy, but his title of club champion went this year to Luke Siddall who was awarded the Harry Joyce Trophy for his achievement.

The evening’s winners, pictured above, now face the challenge of the club’s winter league which will take place throughout the close season and is a keenly fought competition that carries with it the status of being one of the club’s major honours.

By Tony Meheran