Pace announces Droylsden squad for the 2017/18 season
Thursday 20th July 2017 @ 12:13 by Mark Phillip
Football Sports

Droylsden manager Dave Pace has announced his squad for the forthcoming season in the Evo-Stik First Division North.

Striker Ciaran Kilheeney has opted to stay with the club for another season, having re-joined the Bloods last season upon his release from Warrington Town.

Kilheeney, a former Manchester City product, will be joined up-front by Scott Metcalfe, Dominic Smith, Adam Farrell, Ben Wharton and new signing, Dimitri Tuanzebe.

The former Clitheroe man is the brother of Manchester United defender, Axel Tuanzebe.

Shaquille Antoine Clarke, a defender, has also opted to stay at the Butchers Arms, and he will be joined at the back by Ben Barber, Yomi Samuels and Alex Frost – who returns to the club having played under Pace during the 2014/15 season.

In the midfield department, Liam Caddick, Domaine Rouse and Jamie Frost have agreed to stay at the club, while Luke Daly re-joins the club once again.

27-year-old Wayne Riley will also provide support in the midfield department, having spent a number of seasons with Airbus UK.

Goalkeeper James Coates has also opted to stay with the club.

The other signings are:

Daniel Hall

Will jones

George Leigh

Droylsden will be competing in the eighth tier of English football for a fourth consecutive season, having finished last season in 13th spot.

The Bloods return to pre-season action on Saturday against a Rochdale XI at the Butchers Arms, before hosting Ashton United in the Tony Downes Memorial Trophy the following weekend.

The game is held every summer in memory of former guardsman Tony Downes, who tragically lost his life while serving in Afghanistan in 2007.