Weather Icon 8.9°C Overcast
Ashton Conservative Club celebrate national award
Friday 22nd July 2016 @ 10:21 by Adam Higgins
Ashton News

Waterloo and Taunton Conservative Club in Ashton have won the National Sir Marcus Fox Club of the Year Award 2016.

The award was presented by Lord Smith of Hindhead CBE, Chief Executive of Association of Conservative Clubs Ltd (ACC).

Also in attendance were ACC Assistant Chief Executive, Charles Littlewood, ACC Chairman and
Saddleworth South councillor, John Hudson, ACC Vice President of the North West Clubs, Geoffrey Knowles OBE, and ACC Area Treasurer Jeffrey Simpson.

The award takes its name from the late Sir John Marcus Fox, Conservative Party Politician and MP for Shipley, who was chairman of the 1922 Committee – directly overseeing candidate selection for the Conservative Party in the 1979 General Election.

Club chairman John McGhee thanked everyone who has supported the club over the last 125 years and congratulated members on winning this fantastic award.

The Committee provided a buffet supper for the occasion and members had an excellent night.