Mossley’s History In The Manchester Premier Cup
Monday 15th February 2016 @ 11:31 by Mark Phillip
Football Mossley & Saddleworth Sports

Article taken from Mossley’s matchday programme

The Manchester Premier Cup, then known as the Manchester County FA Shield, was first competed for in the 1934-35 season, when Manchester North End beat Hurst 5-2 in the final to become the inaugural champions at their Charles Street Ground in Blackley in front of a crowd of 2,400. The gate receipts of £59 were distributed 50% to the FA and 25% to each of the finalists.

In 1955 it became known as the Manchester Intermediate Cup and in 1979 the Manchester Premier Cup.

Mossley won the shield in 1938 and 1949 and were runners up in 1937, 1939 and 1947.

Mossley won the old Intermediate Cup on three occasions, in 1961, 1967 and 1968 and were runners up twice – in 1959 and 1964.

The clubs that have won the Manchester Premier Cup the most times are:
Droylsden – 8
Hyde – 7
Ashton United – 6
Mossley and Curzon Ashton – 5
Glossop north End – 2
Irlam Town, Maine Road, Radcliffe Borough and Trafford -1

Mossley won the Premier Cup in 1989 and 1991 when the Lilywhites beat Flixton 3-1 at Brantingham Road and Droylsden 3-2 at Manchester City’s Maine Road Stadium respectively.

Mossley have appeared in five finals since then, in 2000, 2009, 2012, 2013 and 2015. Mossley being pitched against Droylsden in the first three.

In 2000 and 2009, Droylsden were the winners by identical 2-1 scorelines and both finals were played at Oldham Athletic’s Boundary Park.

In 2012, Mossley were controversially awarded the Trophy by default when Droylsden were unable to raise an eligible team for the Final which was scheduled for Hyde’s Ewen Fields Stadium.

In the 2013 final, Mossley faced Salford City at Stockport County’s Edgeley Park Stadium, and the Lilywhites retained the trophy, this time on the pitch, winning 4-2 on penalties following a 2-2 draw.

After losing to eventual winners Trafford at the semi-final stage in the 2013/14 season, Mossley were back in the final against last year.

Victories over Glossop North End, Trafford and Irlam saw Mossley through to the final at Boundary Park.

Mossley won the competition for the third time in four years beating Curzon Ashton on penalties in the final after a 1-1 draw.