Denton West CC Awards Ceremony
Friday 10th October 2014 @ 11:42 by Mark Phillip
Denton & Audenshaw Sports

Denton West Cricket Club held their annual presentation dinner last Friday to the delight of all involved.

The Walkden Cup Winners

The Walkden Cup Winners

Returning to the Premier Suite on Corporation Road, Audenshaw, the event gave a chance for the committee, players, spouses, families and supporters to celebrate the highs and lows of the season gone by.

Syd White, the master of ceremonies and CEO of Stalybrideg Celtic, led proceedings from the start.

The Bower Fold regular gave a warm welcome to all guests and sponsors and thanked them for their support.

Amongst a number of speakers on the night was the clubs chairman, Paul Carter, who was up first to give thanks to everyone at the club for their time and effort over the year.

Recipients of Paul’s well wishes were Anne, Jean, Margaret, Debbie and Louise, who all received a bouquet of flowers for their staunch efforts. The captain’s partners were also commended on the night; they too received a bunch to take home.

Prior to the awards ceremony, there was a special mention for club player, Jordan Williams, who had to miss the Walkden Cup final due to International commitments.

Despite his absence from the much heralded final, the club stalwart, who plays for England’s physically disabled cricket team, was welcomed on stage to collect a memento for his achievement from everyone at the club.

Those gifted trophies on the night included Mike Berry, Gareth Senior and Ebrahim Ginawalla, who received the 1st XI batting, 2nd XI batting and 3rd XI batting accolades respectively.

Those in receipt of bowling awards were Scott Kirwin, Matt Senior and Connor Woolley.

The first team’s memorable win against Roe Green was well received by all who attended, as a huge roar of applause echoed around the suite when the trophy was lifted.

The Club’s very own Peter Swales Trophy, that recognises most match-winning performances over the season, was offered to club captain, Mike Berry.

Other awards on the evening went to John Foreman, Max Cole and Conor Woolley, who took home the Retirement Award, Brian Staham trophy and Peter Barry Junior award respectively.

Matty Lowndes found himself taking centre stage as the winner of the Paul Gledson Junior Award, which rounded off proceedings nicely.